Laying down plans

So, I did eventually get power back this morning, and didn’t have to play hide and seek with the paediatrician as I knew the answers to his questions! As per usual, I started this morning with the medical ward round. It was as interesting as ever, with a couple of new patients that we spent time discussing, one with hypoglycaemia and another with cholecystitis!

Continue reading

Ethiopian coffee

I’ve gone on about it enough, and its a rainy Friday afternoon, so here’s my experience of coffee in Ethiopia so far!

Standard coffee

This is the coffee that most Ethiopian’s drink, and involved the ‘coffee ceremony’. The coffee ceremony seems to vary in descriptions online, and the true ceremony involves 3 rounds of coffee, but in reality, a sort of ‘shortened’ ceremony is done when you just want a coffee! It’s cheap, around 3 or 4 Birr, and can be found pretty much anywhere, from the side of the road, in kiosks or in big restaurants.

Continue reading