What an up and down year so far

Firstly, an explanation of my long delay in writing anything on this blog.

Around February, I severely fell out of love with cycling, and life in general. In fact, I have been diagnosed with depression by my GP. I was tired all the time, had no energy to dedicate to medicine, let alone cycling, and to be frank, couldn’t care less about anything. I kept training, albeit missing quite a few sessions, only because I didn’t want to reverse a winter of hard work. But I was going nowhere, on and off the bike. It got to the point where I needed help, and I asked for it. It’s probably one of the hardest things I’ve ever done in my life, and now, the 3 people who will actually read this, are one of the very few people I’ve actually told. It’s not that I am scared of the stigma of depression. It’s just how do you bring that up in conversation, especially as a young male.

However, here I am, back on the up… and with many many things to get writing about! Here’s a list of what’s gone on and what I want to do pieces on!

1. A strong start to the season at winter racing

2. A more in depth piece on depression in sport

3. GOLD! GOLD! GOLD!

4. New PB’s at both 10 and 25 miles

I hope that some people still read the blog with a vague interest, and will try and get the pieces out over the next few days!

TJ

Leave a comment